Sabbats & Esbats

As the wheel of the year turns, many Pagans celebrate 8 Sabbats. These holidays are based on agriculture and astronomical markers. Depending on the earths rotation, some tend to change while others stay the same.

There are 2 points which divide the Pagan Calender in half, they make up the winter and summer solstice. During the winter solstice daylight hours are at their shortest and darkness at it’s maximum. The opposite is the summer solstice, being the longest day and shortest night. As shown on the wheel of the year above, you’ll notice these 2 points fall exactly in between the equinoxes.

The Pagan calender is divided into 4 lesser and 4 greater Sabbats. The 4 lesser sabbats mark the transition from one season to the next, while the 4 greater sabbats ( based on Pre-Christian Fire Festivals) are when each season is at it’s peak and mark days of power.

Greater Sabbats

Lesser Sabbats

Samhain (Oct. 31) Yule (Dec. 20-23)
Imbolc (Feb. 2) Ostara (March 20-23)
Beltane (May 1) Litha (June 20-23)
Lughnasadh (Aug. 1) Mabon Sept. (20-23)